## Caucus – January 12, 2021

Notice of Spring Election and offices to be elected was posted on November 20, 2020. The Notice of Town Caucus was posted on December 18, 2020 at 4:00 p.m. at the Town Garage, Town Clerks Office, Buffalo Bay Store, Peterson Foods, Tribal Administration Building and the Town website. Notice of the Caucus was published in the January 6 and 9, 2021 editions of The Ashland Press.

Town Chairman Paul "Rocky" Tribovich called the caucus to order at 6:30 p.m. at the Community Center.

A total of 17 electors were present and 5 others arrived during the meeting.

The Pledge of Allegiance was recited by those in attendance

The purpose was to nominate candidates to appear on the April 6, 2021 Spring Election for Town Board Chairman and two open Town Board Supervisor positions. Clerk/Treasurer David Good was also that present.

Tribovich stated he is running for office and that he can not serve as chairman of the caucus. A motion was made by Rocky Tribovich and seconded by Larry Meierotto that Jeff Benton chair the caucus. No other nominations were offered. The motion carried by a vote of 17-0.

A motion was made by Rocky Tribovich and seconded by Larry Meierotto that David Good serve as Clerk of the caucus. No other nominations were offered. The motion carried 19-0.

Benton assumed the chair at this time.

Benton called for a motion on the procedure to break a tie vote. A motion was made by Rob Halvorson and seconded by Lucy Meierotto that a vote be used. The motion carried by a vote of 21-0.

Benton called for nominations of two tellers. A motion was made by Bill Hessing and seconded by Brennan Deragon to nominate Amy Butterfield. The motion carried 22-0. A motion was made by Lucy Meierotto and seconded by Lisa Hanson to nominate Lucy Meierotto. The motion carried 22-0.

Benton called for nominations for Town Board Chairman position. A motion was made by Lucy Meierotto and seconded by Bill Hessing to nominate Carl Butterfield. Benton called for additional nominations. A motion was made by Brennan Deragon and seconded by Lucy Meierotto to nominate Bill Hessing. Benton called for additional nominations. A motion was made by Dave Good and seconded by Don Sullivan to nominate Rocky Tribovich. Benton called for additional nominations three times. None were offered. A vote was taken to narrow the candidates for chairman to two. The tellers distributed paper ballots to those present to vote and they tabulated the ballots. Clerk Good announced the two highest vote getters were Butterfield and Hessing. They will appear on the ballot for Town Chairman at the April Spring Election.

Benton called for nominations for two open Town Board Supervisor positions. A motion was made by Kevin Meierotto and seconded by Rocky Tribovich to nominate Larry Meierotto. Benton called for additional nominations. A motion was made by Lucy Meierotto and seconded by Carl Butterfield to nominate Vincent LaFernier. Benton called for additional nominations. A motion was made by Larry Meierotto and seconded by Rocky Tribovich to nominate Don Sullivan. Benton called for additional nominations three times. None were offered. The nominated candidates will appear on the ballot for Town Board Supervisor at the Spring Election.

Clerk Good announced the names of the candidates and offices for which they were nominated.

A motion to adjourn at 6:50 p.m. was made by Rocky Tribovich and seconded by Don Sullivan. The motion carried by a vote of 22-0.

Minutes Respectfully Prepared by:

David L Good – Clerk/Treasurer

Proof of Posting; I, David L. Good, Clerk/Treasurer for the Town of Russell certify that the minutes of the Caucus held January 12, 2021 were posted at the Town Garage and the Town of Russell website at 4:00 p.m. on January 17, 2021.

David L. Good – Clerk/Treasurer